“ beautiful boys make me shy”

March 10, 2011

I wrote this two weeks ago. Hopefully, its still exciting.

ahem….

 

I was running down the metro stairs and racing the guy next to me. I could hear the train as I flashed my smart trip metro card. As I ran across the gate I could see a balance of $245 on the card. “Yes!” I said to myself, “ I least I get metro money.” The guy and I were right beside each other now and the train was staring there.

“ Stand back, the door are about to close” said the operator. I sprinted inside. And when I sat down in the seat I gave a big smile to the guy sitting across form me who came from God knows where… and then the train started moving.

The guy across from me was reading a book for which I couldn’t see the title. He got off on the next stop. And then I realized that I was sitting at the end of the train and the only one at this end. I decided to move where there were some more people. I moved a few seats just to see and when I looked around I saw him. Him the most beautiful guy I have ever seen. He kept looking around and then would lean his head against the pole. He had curly blonde hair and the perfect roman nose and the mysterious eyes that appeal to everyone. Although I can’t quite remember what color his eyes were, I wasn’t close enough. We get to the Tenleytown metro stop and an old man walks in BLOCKING MY VIEW. I tilted my head sideways and to look at him and although it hurt my neck it worked. Then the old man shifted his position and crossed his legs…. Perfect. I could see him! Then on the next stop these crazy high schoolers came in and started making so much noise. He kept staring at them and following them with his eyes. I was too. Unlike the other people around I think we both weren’t annoyed with them just perplexed and curious. I loved his “curious” look if it was that. Then we got to Woodly Park, and the train manager goes, “ We’ll be holding here until further notice.” It turned out to be 45 mins but I was not complaining. He kept looking around and I kept staring. I think it was obvious that I couldn’t take my eyes off him. Our eyes even met for a brief 0.7 seconds. Then he stood up and I noticed a white scarf ( kafiyyah but with brown lines on it ) wrapped around his next in a triangle like arab boys tie it. AND he was holding a guitar. Beautiful and artistic!

He ended up getting off at Dupont circle. The chances of me seeing him again are zero.

Dear beautiful man, your face pops up in my mind every now and then. Is this weird? I’m not going to stalk you. It was destiny for me to get on that train and I missed by a few second. I was meant to see you. And I hope to see you again. It’s a secret wish that the internet now knows.

I told my Arabic class about you. And thought about you when I said “ beautiful boys make me shy in Arabic. Ragool gameeloon tagalee ashar bilhagal.”

(if the sentence structure is wrong please excuse me). Metro guy, I hope I see you again but next time I sit close enough to see you and there isn’t an old man in our way. Even if we didn’t talk you seem perfect, if only you were muslim.

 

P.S. I went running on Sunday for two hours. There were so many things/places in my town that I didn’t know. Like the fact that there’s a blacksmith in the area. I took pictures. You can see them on tumblr : www.uncloudedillusions.tunblr.com

This Saturday I’m going to run for 6 miles from my house to the masjid at 4 in the morning and read Fajr  (prayer before sunrise) there. InshAllah ( God Willing). If I write another post you’ll know I survived.

 

Leave a Reply

