BAD BAD BAD DAY! PLUS SOME RACISM AND A T……..

March 26, 2010

Today was a very bad day. When I woke up this morning and saw sister #4’s face…. well, let’s just say that I said to myself, ” today’s gonna be crap!” and guess what? it was.

First I spent the whole morning cooking, oh but before that I took my brother to starbucks for breakfast, which was the only thing pleasant that happened. Then I spent the whole day cooking. Then I took my laptop to the store to get fixed and the guy there gave me the wrong information and didn’t even run any checks on my computer and just said it was the battery and that I should call the wharehouse. I got home, called the warehouse and they said that no one wrote anything about my computer in the system. Then i called the store I went to again and they guy there told me that I had to come it. Right in the middle of calling them, sister # 3 called from school and told me to pick her from school b/c she was staying after. I told her I would and i picked her up and we were talking about a lot of things. And she told me that her friend’s grandmother was going to pass away today and the girl’s other grandmother was in the hospital. I’m drivin along as I usually do and behind me at some point I see a cop car flashing his lights. I don’t stop. It couldn’t be for me right? then i slow down and then I completely stop. It was for me…..

He comes out of the car and the first things he says is….nothing. So i start, ” Hello.”

” Hello. you didn’t stop.” in his angry voice.

” I’m so sorry. I really didn’t see you at first. I just saw you.”

” I know you didn’t. And you just saw me that’s why you stopped. LICENSE!”

I take out my license, scared to death.

” YOU!” he yells to my sister. ” Don’t put on a seatbelt when you see an officer. Where’s your ID.” he says to her.

” I don’t think i have it with me. i just got back from school. I have a school id if you want it…”

” YOU DON’T CARRY ID. LET ME SEE IT NOW.”

To me: ” you didn’t see the stop sign? You didn’t even stop for the stop sign.”

me: ” I’m so sorry. I’m a little stressed. I must have missed it. I’ve never gotten a ticket before. Please reconsider.”

him: ” WELL, YOU’RE GETTING ONE NOW… AND ITS YOUR JOB TO MAKE SURE SHE HAS HER SEATBELT.”

me: ” please, reconsider. I have exams coming up and I’m already stressed. My parents will kill me. I’ve never pass the stop sign before. please.”

Him: ” Oh well, that’s not my problem and the ticket doesn’t have to do with that. i already wrote it up so no. you said you didn’t see the stop sign, you live around here don’t you….”

me: ” please officer. I didn’t say i didn’t see the stop sign. I said i didn’t see you behind me…”

After 10 more mins of begging he gave me the ticket. I will never forget this incident or the silver ring he was wearing on his thumb, which i was staring at. I think at some point I began to cry.

To me it wasn’t about paying for the ticket. It was more of my need to have a clean slate. And now he has just put a stain on it. OFFICER PATTERSON. there! I will let the world know his name. If I ever meet him some day as a civilian, i will tell him that I know that the only reason he gave me the ticket even after begging and after the fact that I’ve never gotten a ticket and I’ve been driving for the past 4 years, is because I’m muslim, and I was wearing a hijab.

You might think i’m saying this out of anger, but honestly and logically, I’m not. If you don’t know anything about where I live, well, let’s just say that racists live here, white racists.

I’m so nice to them. Why do they do this to us. I always smile, apologize even when its not my fault….. i can go on.

This was my second incident of discrimination ever. I was so traumatized. I had a friend  who had the same experience in the same area. And then a friend who doesn’t wear hijab so the average white cop didn’t know she was muslim and she was going on a speed of over 90 in a neighborhood and the cop let her go b/c she said that she had a lot on her mind. After I got the ticket, I made a promise to myself that I was going to change these people’s thinking. FOR SURE!

AND OFFICER PATTERSON! I WILL MEET YOU SOME DAY AND CONFRONT YOU. I’M NOT MAD THAT I HAVE TO PAY MONEY, I’M MAD BECAUSE YOU WOULD HAVE EASILY LET ME GO IF I WAS A WHITE GIRL, BUT I’M NOT AND I LOVE BEING OLIVE, BECAUSE WHITE IS DULL.

AND i WILL ALSO SAY THIS, ” I FORGIVE YOU BUT I WILL NEVER FORGET YOU. AND GUESS WHAT? OBAMA’S PRESIDENT SO NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO, ITS ALL GOING TO ME FINE.”

I feel like I have to add the last part in, because well, racists’ blood boils when you remind them that a black person has so much power.

ok, not to the main reason I’m writing.

Squirley( my laptop) has to go to the doctor ( the store to get repaired) so he can look awesome again! yay!

i ❤ you squirley, and you will def. be missed.

2 Responses to “BAD BAD BAD DAY! PLUS SOME RACISM AND A T……..”

  1. M Says:

    Salaam sis,

    I don’t think you should blame this instance on hijab or racism, sis. I mean, after all, you DID miss the stop sign, didn’t you? That is reason for a ticket. We shouldn’t just blame others when the fact is, not stopping for a stop sign will get most people tickets. (That isn’t victimization)

    I wouldn’t chalk it up to discrimination, because it wasn’t like he ticketed you for nothing, you know? Just because the friend who doesn’t wear hijab got lucky (it was probably another, more lenient officer who let her go), doesn’t mean much. I was with a white friend of mine who got a speeding ticket for going 61MPH in a 45 zone. It happens.

    Anyway, I just didn’t want you to think it was for no reason that you got the ticket, because there was a reason behind it. I’m sorry you did; hopefully it’ll be your first and last inshaAllah!

    Salaam,
    your sis

    • lifeanddramaofhandm Says:

      Thanks. I’m going to let the whole thing stay in the past and not think about it. If I told him that I’ve been driving for over 4 years and that i’ve never gotten a ticket before then I think i just encouraged him to give me one. I just think it was unfair b/c i was a street from my house. Racist or not…. he was a total jerk and unsympathetic.
      But thanks for the encouragement.


Leave a Reply

